postsem pretty over function

It’s been about a month since B and I moved into our new place, and I *finally* unpacked our final box today.  In a flurry of labor (clearly in honor of Labor Day weekend…?) I set to work setting up our bookcases, which we have gratefully inherited from my parents (and the second of which we also finally received today).

When I was in seminary, all my books had to be arranged by category, so it would be easy for me to find them when I needed them: biblical studies, bibles, texts, and greek/hebrew lexicons, theology and ethics, preaching and worship, and then my for-fun section (which contains mostly literature and crafting books).  Very functional, but not very pretty.

And bwa ha ha, now that B is the one in school maintaining a functional lifestyle, I get to have as much pretty in my book collection as I want!  Which means that Harry Potter gets filed next to — yes — Mujerista Theology and Violent Origins (a book about the violent origins of ancient proto-christian traditions, duh).  Why, you might ask? Because I am arranging my books by COLOR.

'Harry Potter' nestles up to 'The Wolf shall lie with the Lamb'

'Harry Potter' nestles up to 'The Wolf shall lie with the Lamb'

It’s no new idea.  And my bookshelves are hindered by two main features: 1) I don’t have enough books for as brilliant colorways (have you noticed the Gilmore Girls DVDs yet?), and 2) B refuses to include his DVDs, which must of course be ordered alphabetically.  Function.  Psssh.  Who needs it?!

Note the sewing machine... who can resist plugging it into the mix?

Note the sewing machine... who can resist plugging it into the mix?

2 Comments on “postsem pretty over function”

  1. CP says:

    sweet! I’ve been wanting to blog about this, too. I really like the overhanging lamps.

  2. Lids says:

    i heart. only a couple weeks til our race!


Leave a Reply

