I’m naming my first kid Polenta

Inspired by a variety of fancy restaurants that have lately included polenta on their menus, I decided to try my hand at this cornmealy… stuff.

You make it a lot like you do rice, quinoa, risotto, and other grains: boil water, add grain, lower to a simmer, and cook and stir.

Only in the recipe I used, once you’ve lowered it to a simmer, you get to add a bunch of tasty stuff, much like risotto or mexican arroz con leche (which I’m also dying to make asap). I added parmesan cheese, fennel, and butter. OMG, butter makes everything better, which I feel is also sometimes the mantra of my friend Leslie.

Do you SEE this BUTTER? Oh god, I love butter so much, sometimes I think I could eat a stick of it like an ice cream cone.

Moving on.

The polenta was served with a very simple, very easy, fast broccoli rabe. I’ve made it tons of times before, always with garlic and red pepper, but the recipe also called for SALT. it never occured to me to add salt to bitter broccoli rabe before. it made a huge difference. i wonder also what a little lemon zest might do next time…

The only problem with the polenta experiment that there was not enough for a full-sized meal. I don’t know what I was thinking making this our entire meal, but that bit there is smaller than the size of my fist. Hardly a good (American) dinner.

Nevertheless, it was delicious. Polenta, you come on over anytime. I like you so much, maybe I’ll name my firstborn after you. Or at least my next cat.

5 Comments on “I’m naming my first kid Polenta”

  1. ajbbents says:

    I dare you. “Awww… she’s so cornmealy, little Polenta” :)

  2. Mom says:

    Hhmmm, not sure I would choose that name.
    Reminds me too much of Pawlenty!

  3. Alison says:

    Haha. Ok, you both win. Polenta it is not.

    Mom: I was wondering when you’d finally comment! ;)

  4. […] i haven’t necessarily been doing the fancy cooking every weekend per se, but i have been writing about the meals i’ve been enjoying cooking whenever i happen to feel like it throughout the […]

  5. […] said it before, i’m sure i’ll say it again: butter makes everything better. butter is a goddess. i could eat it deep-fried off a […]


Leave a Reply

