i recognize low blood sugar when i see it

B walked through the door today just as I was about to start dinner. Nearly halfway through midterms, he was (is still) a picture of exhaustion and stress.

I had planned to make a fancy dinner (apple and onion cheddar gratin) that would take at least an hour and a half to make.

Now, I recognize symptoms of low blood sugar when I see them. So I changed course to a much quicker, but equally fun meal: breakfast for dinner! brussel sprouts, pancetta, and feta omelettes with sweet corn pancakes. I didn’t miss the gratin at all.

Pancetta ranks right up there with butter as a food of which I could consume very high quantities.

And I’m totally confounded by people who think brussel sprouts are gross. Have they TRIED brussel sprouts?! they’re only like the chocolate of vegetables!

You can’t see it, but there is feta cheese in that omelette.

And then, these sweetcorn pancakes. I took a cue from Maria’s Cafe in Minneapolis, which serves these amazing corn pancakes with some kind of delicious colombian cheese, very crumbly and salty. the feta was much more sour than the cheese that Maria’s uses, and my pancakes weren’t nearly sweet enough or moist enough… but I’m glad I tried. I will try again! And next time, I will try to find that cheese before I make them!

As I write this post, I am continuing on in the midterm tradition (which I intend to maintain for the next three years of B’s med school) of making as many tasty treats as I want, all in the name of spoiling a very frantically-studying boyfriend. So, I’m making rice pudding. It is taking a very long time. And I’m getting impatient. But it smells damn good.

One Comment on “i recognize low blood sugar when i see it”

  1. Erin Walding says:

    I love Maria’s corn pancakes so much!!! We should make a breakfast date soon. Or you can continue to try and make them and invite me over. :)


Leave a Reply

