I made a yummy.

Salads are my specialty. And when everyone left last weekend, we came home with a lot of leftover food, including an entire watermelon. So, I made a watermelon-basil-tomato salad. And it was delicious.

pic by B.

I doused the fruit in pomegranite balsamic vinegar and blood orange olive oil (gifts from my mom), threw in some mild, local cheddar cheese, added toasted pine nuts, and laid it all on a bed of butter lettuce. And, in a spasm of Martha-esque behavior, I even melon-balled the watermelon. Whoas.

pic by B again!

So tasty, so refreshing. In the end, I’m pretty sure I ate half a watermelon in one sitting. And there’s something to be said for that.

One Comment on “I made a yummy.”

  1. julia says:

    yum! I just made this one, which I highly recommend (and you can sub feta for the ricotta if you need to)…but I’m going to try yours next time. http://www.staceysnacksonline.com/2009/06/watermelon-ricotta-salata-mint-salad.html


Leave a Reply

