What got me through the year 2013

Here we are again, at the pivot point of another year.

I like New Year traditions. Auld Lang Syne, the song to which so few of us know the words, actually captures the balance between nostalgia and hope, between the sadness and eagerness we feel about the passing of another year. Often this moment rushes past me, in the flurry of the holidays (and recovery from the holidays!).

This year, I want to pause and reflect about this passage of time – something I haven’t done for a while. Four years ago, I wrote a post called What Got Me Through The Year – which chronicled my most meaningful moments of 2009. So this time, I give you…

2013: The seven things that got me through

My ordination

ordination

Like whoa. It still surprises me sometimes that I am an ordained human minister. In ways that I didn’t expect, becoming a “pastor” has changed who I am, how I see myself, and how I see my role as I walk around the world. This deserves a whole new post at some point – but simply understanding how I am perceived by others differently has changed how I perceived myself (hello, looking glass self). More than anything, I continue to be deeply moved by how my community emerged from around me to be present and bear witness on that day almost a year ago, a veritable wave of love and support. I am grateful.

Attending the 2013 Internet Cat Video Film Festival.
Yup.

One week in Hawai’i
A double rainbow. A walk on the coast. Green mountains, lush gardens, pumice coastlines, sushi, and lots of quality time with my love.

 

Screen Shot 2013-04-25 at 1.45.04 PM

Running
This year, more than any other, I discovered that I love running. I attempted to run a marathon, but at mile nine of my training I became injured with a tight IT band. Nevertheless – my body learned what it felt like to run around the beautiful lakes of South Minneapolis, observing the people around me and the golden sunshine, anchored in my breath and the rhythm of my legs, lost in thought and podcasts (with the help of my phone). Now that it’s winter, I’ve largely delayed my long runs until spring – but I can’t wait to start training again.

Books on Tape
It was also long-distance running that compelled me to start listening to books on tape. I’ve loved driving, walking, knitting, running, washing dishes, cleaning, and doing all kinds of solitary activities with a book in my ear this year. I’ve listened to a number of books since I started in June, but these are my three most highly recommended titles: Flight BehaviorThe Book Thief, and The Master Butcher’s Singing Club.

Therapy
Perhaps the most rewarding and unexpected discovery this year has been the power of psychotherapy in my life and relationships. Without sharing details, I’ll just say that therapy has been hard work, but deeply transformative and incredibly rewarding. If you are considering therapy, don’t waste time mincing around. Do it. Find a therapist you trust, commit to the work, and it will change your life.

15 years of best friendship
Can one ask for anything more? Or how about another 15?

Screen Shot 2014-01-01 at 9.41.57 PM

What got you through 2013?

Leave a Reply

